Wild West

Loyalty program for payment terminals

Project description

A loyalty system for payment terminals in the form of a shooter from the 90s

Task

Creating a game interface for the loyalty program in the style of old 8bit games. Integrating it into the terminal taking into account system limitations.

Speaking of restrictions and limitations it is worth mentioning that most of the terminals were still running on Windows XP, which means that it was necessary to develop a universal software that would work on all versions of Windows OS. Also almost all terminals had TN-matrices with bad color rendering and narrow viewing angles.

The client provided several payment terminals from different manufacturers for development and testing purposes:

Payment terminal

Solution

To solve the problem with support for both old and new Windows OS, we chose NW.js as our development platform - a javascript framework that allows you to create cross-platform desktop applications for Windows, MacOS and Linux using web technologies based on Node.js and V8.

Regarding the interface it should be said that game design is very different from web and mobile interface design, in fact, so is its development. So the task was completely new to us. But since the game scenario was quite simple, we knew we could do it.

We wanted to give the gameplay a nostalgic feel of old video game cartridges, so we combined the pixel art style with attributes of a Western.

Concept of the game's main screen
Concept of the game's main screen
Concept of the game's main screen

When we started testing the game concept on the terminals with the client, it became clear that the colors were not bright enough, and it was necessary to change the color scheme.

We drew eight characters, implemented simple movement animations and shooting behavior for each of them.

We paid a lot of attention to the development of scenarios, so that the user would understand the rules of the game as quickly as possible in the few seconds that they spend at the payment terminal. This game scenario is very different from classic console games, where the user is introduced to the interface in the form of hints and the user has time to become familiar with the game.

Дикий запад

Программа лояльности для терминалов оплаты

О проекте

Система лояльности для терминалов оплаты в виде шутера из 90-х

Задача

Создать игровой интерфейс программы лояльности в стиле старых 8bit-ных-игрушек. Интегрировать его в терминал с учётом ограничений системы.

Об ограничения и улсовиях стоит сказать, что большинство терминалов до сих пор работают под управлением Windows XP, а это значит, что надо разработать универсальный софт, который будет работать на всех версиях OS Windows. Еше почти на всех терминалах стоят TN-матрицы с плохой цветопередачей и малыми углами обзора.

Заказчик предоставил несколько терминалов оплаты различных производителей для разработки и тестирования:

Терминал оплаты на интеграции

Решение

Для решения проблемы с поддержкой и старых и новых OS Windows мы выбрали в качестве платформы для разработки NW.js – это такой javascript ферймворк, который позволяет создавать кроссплатформенные десктопные приложения для Windows, MacOS и Linux при помощи веб-технологий на базе Node.js и V8.

Про отрисовку интерфейса нужно сказать, что гейм-дизайн сильно отличается от дизайна веб- и мобильных интерфейсов, собственно как и разработка. Так что задача была для нас совершенно новой. Но поскольку игровой сценарий был довольно простой, мы знали, что справимся.

Нам хотелось придать игровому процессу ощущение ностальгии видеоигр с картриджей, поэтому мы соединили стилистику пиксель-арта с аттрибутами вестерна.

Экран загрузки Дикого запада
Концепт игры для терминала «Дикий Запад»
Концепт основного экрана игры

Когда мы с заказчиком начали тестировать на терминалах концепт игры, то стало ясно, что цвета недостаточно яркие, и стоит изменить цветовую гамму.

Отрисовали восемь персонажей, реализовали простую анимацию движения и поведения при выстрела для каждого из них.

Персонажи «Дикий Запад»
Экраны игры «Дикий Запад»

Мы уделили большое внимание проработке сценариев, чтобы пользователю было максимально просто понять правила игры за те несколько секунд, что пользователь стоит у терминала. Такой игровой сценарий сильно отличается от классических игр на приставке, где пользователя интерфейс знакомит в виде подсказок и пользователь располагает верменем, чтобы ознакомиться с игрой.